Top Ten Tuesday [7.01]

TTT BannerHosted by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish!

Top Ten Favorite Classic Books

Already Read:
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley [x] – I’m firmly in the camp that refers to this book as one of the earliest examples of science fiction and it is truly one of my favorites.  Plus, even the story of how it came to be is awesome: Both Shelleys and Lord Byron amusing themselves with ghost stories while vacationing in Switzerland when Byron challenges them each to write their own and this is what Mary delivers. Brilliant.

Dracula by Bram Stoker [x] – The monster genre is a favorite of mine (in books and film) and I love seeing the influence that Stoker’s novel has had on the vampires that we see everywhere in books and on television today.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë [x] – I read this one during my senior year of high school while on spring break in Hawaii and was surprised by how much I loved it, I have very distinct memories of reading out on our hotel balcony and just refusing to put it down.

♥ The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle [x] – This is my absolute favorite of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s works and is easily one of my top five favorite books, I can’t even count how many times I’ve read it, I just love the story.

A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs [x] – The first of the John Carter/Martian series and one of my absolute favorite science fiction classics,  let’s not talk about the disaster that was the movie adaptation (I love me some Taylor Kitsch, but no).


Want to Read:
Paradise Lost by John Milton [x] – I’ve actually read excerpts of this one, I just haven’t found the time to read it as a whole even though it sounds fascinating to me.

The Call of the Wild by Jack London [x] – I have a deep, deep love for Jack London and after reading White Fang I know it’s just a matter of time until I pick this one up and I’m sure I’m going to love it.

The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells [x] – Another science fiction classic (can you tell that I’m a fan of the genre?) that I’ll hopefully get a chance to read soon.

1984 by George Orwell [x] – I’m pretty sure this one was an option to read for an assignment in one of my high school Lit classes and for some reason I passed it up in favor of something else, since I have no memory of what I actually did read I’m thinking this one might have been a better choice.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley [x] – I’m super embarrassed that I haven’t read this one yet because it’s been recommended to me by multiple people for years and somehow I still haven’t gotten around to it.


Honorable mentions go to Robert Louis Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde [x], F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby [x], and J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit [x] – it’s probably safe to assume that if I’m responsible for making any kind of book list that Tolkien is going to be on it, I’ll try to keep my Middle Earth feelings from leaking all over the whole blog though (hence the honorable mention).

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday [7.01]

Leave a Reply

